Making Qualitative Research Visible

Qualitative research approaches are an established part of the social, human and health sciences' methodology. However, they are little noticed in medical science.
At the same time, qualitative research results are highly relevant, for example, with regard to the daily routine of care, the integration of patient perspectives or the improvement of health services.

The Qualitative Research Network at Charité therefore aimes at making the methodological and substantive research competencies at the Charité more visible for health-related and medical qualitative and mixed-methods research, linking researchers in this field, students and doctoral candidates. Doctoral students will be supported in working with qualitative methodology.

The experts of the network represent courses on qualitative research methods at Charité and beyond. For example, fundamental qualitative research skills are taught at the Charité as part of the dissertation environment. The experts of the network also advise individual students and doctoral candidates who wish to apply qualitative methods in their work.

In their own research projects, the researchers of the network show their diverse competences and extensive knowledge in the various approaches of qualitative methodology, e.g. of the work with participatory observation, narrative interviews, grounded theory, qualitative content analysis according to Mayring, thematic analysis, etc ..
In method workshops and through supervision and intervision, the researchers support and advise each other. Research results are discussed and methodological approaches reflected. Employees of the Charité, who feel addressed by the work of the network, are welcome to participate with their own input.

Qualitative Forschung an der Charité sichtbar machen und vernetzen

Qualitative Forschungsansätze sind ein etablierter Bestandteil des sozial-, geistes- und gesundheitswissenschaftlichen Methodenkanons. Sie werden jedoch in den Naturwissenschaften und teils auch in der Medizin mitunter wenig wahrgenommen.

Gleichzeitig haben qualitative Forschungsergebnisse eine hohe Relevanz, zum Beispiel im Hinblick auf den konkreten Versorgungsalltag, die Integration von Patientenperspektiven oder die Verbesserung von Gesundheitsdienstleistungen.

Das Netzwerk Qualitative Forschung der Charité hat sich daher zum Ziel gesetzt, die methodischen und inhaltlichen Forschungskompetenzen an der Charité für die gesundheitsbezogene und medizinische qualitative und mixed-methods Forschung stärker sichtbar zu machen, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in diesem Bereich sollen vernetzt, Studierende und Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden bei Arbeiten mit qualitativer Methodik stärker unterstützt werden.

Die Expertinnen und Experten des Netzwerks vertreten Lehrangebote zu qualitativen Forschungsmethoden in den Studiengängen der Charité und darüber hinaus. So wird schon im Rahmen der Nachwuchsförderung grundlegende qualitative Forschungskompetenz an der Charité vermittelt. Die Expertinnen und Experten des Netzwerks beraten auch individuell Studierende, Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, die in ihren Arbeiten qualitative Methoden anwenden möchten.

In eigenen Forschungsvorhaben zeigen die Forscherinnen und Forscher des Netzwerks ihre vielfältigen Kompetenzen und umfangreichen Kenntnisse in den diversen konkreten Ansätzen qualitativer Methodik, z. B. (nicht abschließende Aufzählung) der Arbeit mit teilnehmender Beobachtung, narrativen Interviews, Grounded Theory, qualitativer Inhaltsanalyse nach Mayring, thematischer Analyse, etc..

In Methodenwerkstätten und durch Supervision und Intervision unterstützen und beraten sich die Forschenden gegenseitig. Es werden Forschungsergebnisse diskutiert und methodische Vorgehensweisen reflektiert. Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der Charité, die sich von der Arbeit des Netzwerkes angesprochen fühlen, sind gerne eingeladen sich mit eigenen Impulsen zu beteiligen.